

Global Alumni Association of Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur

Scholarship, Research & Alumni Fellowship for Excellence Awards Distribution Ceremony 2020

Like previous years GAABESU Scholarship, Alumni Fellowship for Excellence Award, Research Award and Debate Award Distribution Ceremony was successfully held on March 02, 2020 at Alumni Seminar Hall, IIEST, Shibpur.

Following GAABESU officials and eminent personalities were present at the ceremony:

Mrs. Anjana Ganguly Roy (1977/ETC), President of GAABESU

Mr. Achyut Ghosh (1961/ME), Former President of GAABESU

Mr. Prosenjit Chakraborty (1987/EE) Working President, GAABESU

Mr. Sitangshu Ghosh (1980/ME), Secretary, GAABESU

Prof. Arabinda Roy (1976/ETC), Professor of ETC Department, IIEST, Treasurer, GAABESU

Lt. Col. Anjan Kumar Ghosh (1976/ETC), former PICSA, IIEST, Chairman of Scholarship Sub Committee, GAABESU

Mr. Somnath Sinha Ray (1987/ARCH), Secretary EC6, GAABESU

Prof. Netai Chandra Dey, (1986/MIN) Professor of Mining Department and Member of EC 7.

Dr. Arun Deb (1957/CE), Former President and member of EC7, GAABESU

Dr. Prabir Neogi, (1962/CE) BECAA CANADA representative and Member of EC7, GAABESU

Prof. Indranath Sinha (1982/MIN), Professor of Mining Department, IIEST, Member of EC7

Mr. Syama P. Datta, (1967/CE) Former President, GAABESU

The program was conducted by Mr. Prosenjit Chakraborty, Working President GAABESU. He welcomed the dignitaries to the dais. At first, he requested Lt. Col. Anjan Kumar Ghosh to say about the GAABESU Scholarship Programme. Lt. Col. Ghosh explained in details the background and purpose of the Scholarship awarded by GAABESU since 1998. He specially mentioned the contribution of the Global Coordinator of Scholarship Sub Committee Mr. Rajdeep Dutta (resident of Dubai) and one of the original initiators of Alumni Scholarship Programme Dr. Swapan Saha (resident of USA) both are alumni from 1988 EE batch, to make the overall scholarship program a success. He further expressed his sincere hopes that the recipient students will also feel for the needy students and extend meaningful help to them in future. He mentioned that this year total no. of Scholarship is 139. The table of the Scholarship and Awards are given below:



Category	Nos	Amount (Rs.)
Research Award	8	1,44,000.00
Excellence Award	22	4,43,000.00
Scholarship & Book Grant	105	12,69,500.00
Paramesh Ranjan Dhar Debate Award	4	6,000.00
TOTAL	139	18,62,500.00

Thereafter GAABESU President Ms. Anjana Ganguly Roy welcomed the distinguished guests, Donors and their relatives, GAABESU Officials, awardees and other students. She explained the activities of GAABESU since its inception from 2005 on a global scale. GAABESU launched a series of activities in promoting professional success of students and faculty of the institute, supported welfare initiatives and development of infrastructural facilities, in close synergy with the needs of the Institute and its constituents. She mentioned some of GAABESU's contributions towards Infrastructure enhancement and Student Welfare of the institute. GAABESU look forward to institute's views on framing the future projects and activities to be taken up by GAABESU, in promoting the excellence of students and propagating the legacy and branding of our Alma Mater.

Thereafter the Scholarship award distribution ceremony started, at first Research awards then Excellence Award then Debate Award and lastly Scholarships. Prosenjit Chakraborty called all recipients one by one. All present dignitaries handed over the awards to the recipients. Donor of Madhusudan Bhattacharya Memorial Research award, Dr. Dilip K Bhattacharya was present at the ceremony and handed over his award to the recipient. The highest prize money of all Excellence Award is Tapan Kumar Basu Excellence Award given by Mrs. Bandana Basu (wife of late Tapan K Basu, 1958, CE). As per her desire a write up about Late Tapan Basu was read by Sri prosenjit Chakraborty. The Award handed over by Shri Syama Prasad Datta. The memorial fellowship named after Dr. S.S. Boral was handed over to the recipient by his Son-in-law Mr. Dilip Sinha and Daughter Mrs. Jonaki Panja. Father of late Soumya Bhattacharya Mr. Shyamal Bhattacharyya was present to hand over the Memorial Award for excellence named after his departed son. Late Paramesh Ranjan Dhar Debate award handed over by Shri Syama Prasad Datta.

Smt. Meera Roy & Bimal Kumar Roy Memorial Scholarship, Ranajit Kumar Ganguly Memorial Scholarship handed over by Ms. Anjana Ganguly Roy (77 ETC). Minati Sarkar & Amalendra Nath Roy Sarkar Memorial Scholarship handed over by Mrs. Sukanya Roy Sarkar, wife of Barit Roy Sarkar (89 ETC). Harihar Datta Memorial Scholarship handed over by Smt. Bijaya Laxmi Datta, Mother of Mayukh Datta (90 CE). During the ceremony, Prosenjit Chakraborty and Somnath Sinha Ray (1987) mentioned about their friend Late Amlan Basu, when the scholarship instituted in memory of him was awarded. From this year GAABESU awarded 10 Scholarships to the 1st year students both from Science and Engineering. Few other donors were also present and awarded their respective scholarships.

Continuation



The ceremony concluded with vote of thanks to the chair given by GAABESU Secretary Mr. Sitansu Sekhar Ghosh. He requested all students to use their award/ scholarship money for Educational purpose not anything else. He thanked all present dignitaries, EC members, Students and IIEST Authority to make the Scholarship distribution Ceremony successfully.

After the programme a small refreshment organized for all students and present dignitaries.

Report by: Mrs. Tultul Roy, Office Manager, GAABESU

Edited by: Subrata Ghosh